The “A” Word and making peace with it.

autism products

Square Peg in a Round Hole

Image                      Willy at 4 months old

I had a “first” for me the other day. I was in the middle of a conversation with a co-worker, when out of no where, the “A” word slipped out. I actually shocked myself right after I said it, and I paused… I stared right at her, and said, “I don’t think I’ve ever said the “A” word out loud before in regards to my son. The “A” word that I am referring to is Autism. I’ve always dance around that word when talking about him to others, for instance, “He has such severe ADHD (which is true), that it really impacts his speech and social skills, which makes him incredibly frustrated, which makes him anxious. It’s like one hand washes the other, you know?” I could have been saving my breath all this time…

View original post 318 more words

Leave a Reply

